

Organs of the General Settlement Fund

The organs of the General Settlement Fund were the Board of Trustees, the Secretary General and the Claims Committee. Furthermore, an Arbitration Panel for the examination of applications for *in rem* restitution of publicly-owned property was established with the General Settlement Fund.

brganizational chart type unknown

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the supreme body of the National Fund of the Republic of Austria for Victims of National Socialism, the General Settlement Fund for Victims of National Socialism (dissolved 2022) and the Fund for the Restoration of the Jewish Cemeteries in Austria. Its responsibilities include establishing the guidelines and financial regulations for the payments by the Funds. It is also in charge of deciding how to invest the funds and ensuring that they are used for their designated purpose.

The members of the Board of Trustees are: 1. the Presidents of the National Council, 2. the Federal Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor, the Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Federal Minister of Labor and Social Affairs, the Federal Minister of Finance and the Federal Minister of Education and Cultural Affairs (or representatives appointed by the respective ministries), 3. twelve further members voted in by the Main Committee of the National Council.

The members voted in by the Main Committee must be members of the National Council or the Federal Council, including former members of the National Council or the Federal Council, other esteemed figures of Austrian public, cultural or academic life or representatives of the victims. They are elected to the Board for the duration of one legislative period and remain in office until replacement members have been elected.

The Board of Trustees is headed by the President of the National Council. Dr. Heinz Fischer (SPÖ) held this position from the establishment of the National Fund in 1995 until the year 2002, followed by Dr. Andreas Khol (ÖVP) from December 2002 until October 2006, Mag. Barbara Prammer (SPÖ) from October 2006 until August 2014, Doris Bures (SPÖ) from September 2014 until November 2017 and Elisabeth Köstinger (ÖVP) from November until December 2017. Mag. Wolfgang Sobotka (ÖVP) has been the Chairperson of the Board of Trustees since December 2017.

The Chairperson proposes members for a Control Committee, who are in office for the duration of the legislative period.

Personnel composition

Members

Mag. Dr. Gerhard Baumgartner (Advisory Member)

Dr. Dagmar Belakowitsch, Delegate of the National Council, Club of the Austrian Freedom Party

Mag. Eva Blimlinger, Delegate of the National Council, The Green Group in the Austrian Parliament

Dr. Helmut Brandstätter, Delegate of the National Council, Club of the Neos

Dr. Magnus Brunner, Federal Minister of Finance

Doris Bures, Second President of the National Council

Oskar Deutsch, President of the Jewish Community Vienna

Mag. Martin Engelberg, Delegate of the National Council, Club of the Austrian People's Party

DDr. Barbara Glück, Federal Ministry of the Interior / Mauthausen Memorial

Ing. Norbert Hofer, Third President of the National Council

Prof. Dr. Udo Jesionek, President of the Juvenile Court, retired

Dr. Gerhard Kastelic (Advisory Member)
Mag. Dr. Martin Kocher, Federal Minister for Labour and Economy
Mag. Werner Kogler, Vice Chancellor
Willi Mernyi (Advisory Member)
Karl Nehammer, MSc, Federal Chancellor
Dr. Gerald Netzl, Working Group of Nazi Victims' Associations and Resistance Fighters in Austria
Fritz Neugebauer (Advisory Member)
Dr. Martin Polaschek, Federal Minister for Education, Science and Research
Johannes Rauch, Federal Minister for Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection
Andreas Sarközi, Cultural Association of Austrian Roma
Mag. Alexander Schallenberg, LL.M., Federal Minister for Europe, Integration and Foreign Affairs
Dr. Manfred Scheuer, Bishop of the Diocese Linz; Diocese-Bishop
Mag. Wolfgang Sobotka, President of the National Council (Chairperson)
Thomas Stern (Advisory Member)
MR Mag. Terezija Stoisits (Advisory Member)
Dr. Harald Troch, Delegate of the National Council, Club of the Social Democrats Party
MinR. PrivDoz. Mag. Dr. Helmut Wohnout, Director-General of the Austrian State Archives