Organs of the General Settlement Fund

The organs of the General Settlement Fund were the Board of Trustees, the Secretary General and the Claims Committee. Furthermore, an Arbitration Panel for the examination of applications for in rem restitution of publicly-owned property was established with the General Settlement Fund.

In the following organigram, the organs of the General Settlement Fund are marked in yellow the organs of the National Fund in red and those of the Fund for the Restoration of the Jewish Cemeteries in green.

Organizational chart Board of TrusteesAdvisory BoardCommitteeClaims CommitteeArbitration Panel for In Rem RestitutionSecretary General
Organizational chart

Claims Committee

An independent Claims Committee consisting of three persons decided on applications on monetary compensation filed with the General Settlement Fund for Victims of National Socialism.

The Government of the United States of America and the Austrian Federal Government each appointed one Member. These two Members agreed on the appointment of a Chairperson.

The Claims Committee consisted of Sir Franklin Berman (Chairman), G. Jonathan Greenwald was appointed by the US Government and Dr. Kurt Hofmann by the Austrian Government.

The Claims Committee of the General Settlement Fund was disbanded in April 2017.

Personnel composition

Sir Franklin Berman, Chairman of the Claims Committee from 2001 to 2017.

G. Jonathan Greenwald, US-appointed Member of the Claims Committee from 2006 to 2017.

Dr. Kurt Hofmann (†), Member of the Claims Committee appointed by Austria from 2001 to 2017.